Wilmington Area DWI Assessment Information

What is a DWI Assessment?

A North Carolina DWI Assessment is a meeting with a Licensed or Certified Substance Abuse Counselor. At this meeting, the counselor will evaluate an individual’s dependence on alcohol and other drugs. After assessment, there will be required treatment plan.

Why is a DWI Assessment needed?

If a person is convicted of a DWI in North Carolina, it is required that they complete a DWI Assessment to obtain a paper license.

For those that want to gain a Limited Driving Privilege during the Civil Revocation period, a DWI Assessment is required.

A DWI Assessment can also possibly lessen punishment at trial because it is considered a mitigating factor.

Bottom line, if a person has been charged with a DWI in North Carolina, it’s very beneficial for them to obtain an assessment as soon as possible.

What kind of treatment will the DWI Assessment facility suggest?

There is a spectrum of services that a Substance Abuse Counselor can suggest. These include:

Alcohol Drug Education Traffic School (also known as ADETS)
The NCSHHS defines ADETS as an educational program for people who do not have identified substance abuse disorder, but may be at risk.

Outpatient Treatment
Outpatient treatment does not require an overnight stay at a facility. This type of treatment can consist of short-term or long-term depending on the severity of the addiction or abuse.

Inpatient Treatment
Inpatient treatment involves checking into a facility and having 24 hour care.

Day Treatment
Day treatment involves going to a facility for at least 8 hours a day.

How long will the DWI Assessment take?

Multiple facilities in the New Hanover, Pender and Brunswick County area mention on their website that the process will take roughly 90 minutes, but the session is not a timed event. 

Do I have to get an assessment in the North Carolina County where I was charged?

No. You can get a DWI assessment in any county in North Carolina. If you are from out of state, you can get a DWI assessment in your state.

How much will a DWI Assessment cost?

DWI Assessment costs are set by the State of North Carolina. The cost is $100. No matter where the facility is located in North Carolina, the fee will be $100.

What all is needed to complete a DWI Assessment?

To complete your DWI Assessment you will need the following:

+ Complete Lifetime Driving Record from the DMV
+ Verification of your BAC
+ Fee Payment of $100

Will any information shared with the Assessment Agency be shared with anyone else like an employer or insurance company?

By state and federal law, facilities are not allowed to share information about assessments. The only time this information can be shared is if the person taking the assessment specifically signs documents that gives the facility the right to release the information.

Where can I get a DWI Assessment in New Hanover, Pender or Brunswick County, North Carolina?

New Hanover County, NC

FACILITY CITY PHONE
AMERICANO USA: TRAFFIC SCHOOL AND DWI SERVICES WILMINGTON 910-833-5315
COASTAL HORIZONS CENTER, INC WILMINGTON 910-343-0145
CREATIVE INTELLIGENCE SERVICES WILMINGTON 910-793-0566
D& A ASSESSMENT SERVICES INC. WILMINGTON 910-343-8185
DWI ASSESSMENTS AND COUNSELING SERVICES, LLC WILMINGTON 910-796-0963
DWI ASSESSMENTS AND COUNSELING SERVICES, LLC. WILMINGTON 910-796-0963
HEALING BALM COUNSELING CENTER WILMINGTON 910-632-4533
LIFE TRANSITIONS INC. WILMINGTON 910-833-8624

Pender County, NC

FACILITY CITY PHONE
COASTAL HORIZONS CENTER, INC -PENDER BURGAW 910-259-0668
PENDER DWI ASSESSMENT AND SERVICES HAMPSTEAD 910-508-9261

Brunswick County, NC

FACILITY CITY PHONE
BRUNSWICK SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES SHALLOTTE 910-880-8506
COASTAL HORIZONS CENTER, INC. - BRUNSWICK SHALLOTTE 910-754-4515
OCEANSIDE FAMILY COUNSELING AND RESOURCE CENTER SUNSET BEACH 910-575-4200
SOUTH BRUNSWICK COUNSELING SERVICES SOUTHPORT 910-454-4040
SOUTH BRUNSWICK COUNSELING SERVICES SHALLOTTE 910-754-5887

Get Peace of Mind

Request a Free Consultation